Winners announced at the 40th Lighting Design Awards 2016

Projects from 17 countries – including Poland, Croatia, Azerbaijan, Canada, the US, Italy, Germany, the UAE, Iran, Australia, China, Spain, Poland and Turkey – were celebrated and rewarded at the fortieth Lighting Design Awards in London last night. The winners were announced at a glamorous black-tie event at the London Hilton Park Lane attended by over 700 designers, architects and suppliers and hosted by Tom Allen.

The lighting designer of the year for 2016 was named as Gerd Pfarré, whom the judging panel described as ‘a designer of stellar talent and boundless creativity’.

The lighting design practice of the year is Arup, who has had ‘an astonishing run of fantastic projects’. The architect of the year is Diller Scofidio + Renfro. The judges said: ‘Few firms handle daylight as sensitively and as passionately as this one’.

Other winners included the US light artist Christine Sciulli for the Roil artwork in New York, David Atkinson for the UAE Pavilion at the Expo 2015 and the Society of Light & Lighting for the Night of Heritage Light.