Shortlist announced for 40th Lighting Design Awards!

The shortlist for the fortieth Lighting Design Awards has been announced in London.

It marks the first time that all categories have been opened up to competition from across the world, taking the awards to a new level and ensuring that winning one is the ultimate accolade of achievement.

The project judging team is headed by judge emeritus Howard Brandston and comprises lighting designer Roger Narboni; light artist Steven Scott, Lighting magazine editor Jill Entwistle. architects Ben Adams and Phil Coffey; former head of lighting at Arup Bob Venning; Head of School of Design at Victoria University, New Zealand, Professor Margaret Petty; and the Chair of Architecture at Cardiff University, Professor Richard Weston.

The product judging team includes lighting designers Dean Skira of Skira, Sally Storey of Lighting Design International, Neil Knowles of Elektra Lighting and John Bullock of JBLD; architect John McRae of Orms; and former head of lighting at Arup Bob Venning.

The chair of the judges is the managing editor of Lighting magazine Ray Molony and the panel is additionally assisted by a international team of independent validators.

Sponsors for the 40th Lighting Design Awards include Anolis, iGuzzini, LED Linear, LineaLight Group, Lumenpulse, Marshalls, Precision Lighting and RCL.

Architectural Luminaire – Exterior

  • Cells – Reggiani
  • Ghost – Simes
  • Myia – Linea Light Group
  • Ringa – Litpa Lighting
  • Shockwave Alfa – Saco Technologies
  • Underscore InOut – iGuzzini

Architectural Luminaire – Interior

  • ArtPoint – TM Lighting
  • Electron – Karice
  • Indi – Halla
  • Laser – iGuzzini
  • Patera – Louis Poulsen
  • Tile – Cooledge Lighting
  • Trace – Lamp Lighting

Heritage Project of the Year

  • Australian War Memorial, Canberra, Australia – Steensen Varming
  • Derby Cathedral, England – James Morse Lighting Design
  • Night of Heritage Light, UK – Society of Light and Lighting
  • Sayner Huette Foundry, Bendorf, Germany – Freundeskreis Sayner Huette
  • Saraye Ameriha Boutique Hotel, Kashan, Iran – APV Architectural Lighting Design
  • York Art Gallery, England – Arup

Retail Project of the Year

  • Bolon Eyewear, Shanghai, China – Pfarré Lighting Design
  • Christopher Kane, London, England – Isometrix Lighting + Design
  • CP Hart, London – studioFRACTAL
  • Gerber Shopping Mall, Stuttgart, Germany – Pfarré Lighting Design
  • Gieves & Hawkes, London, England – Lightplan
  • Harvey Nichols, Baku, Azerbaijan – dpa lighting consultants
  • Mall of Scandinavia, Stockholm, Sweden – AF Lighting
  • Ports 1961, Shanghai, China – Inverse Lighting Design

Light Art Project of the year

  • Echelman Greenway Sculpture, Boston, USA – Arup
  • HALFLIFE, King’s Cross, London, England – Speirs + Major
  • ROOM, The Beaumont Hotel, London, England – Illuminationworks
  • ROIL, New York, USA – Christine Sciulli
  • Your Colour Perception, Manchester, England – Liz West
  • Water Light Energy – BTB – Berlin, Germany, Nils-R. Schultze

Integration Project of the Year

  • Cepsa Flagship Station, Avila, Spain – AUREOLIGHTING
  • The UK Pavilion, Expo 2015, Milan, Italy – BDP/Wolfgang Buttress/Stage One
  • River Thames pedestrian and cycle bridge, Reading, UK – Schreder/Peter Brett Associates
  • The Guildford Recreation Centre Aquatic Addition, British Columbia, Canada – AES Engineering
  • The Sussex Cellar, London, England – Sutton Vane Associates

Daylight Project of the Year

  • The Broad, Los Angeles, USA – Arup
  • The Europe Galleries, The Victoria and Albert Museum, London, England – Sutton Vane Associates
  • Fulton Center, New York, USA – Arup
  • Harvard Art Museums, Massachusetts, USA – Arup
  • Maggie’s Centre, Lanarkshire, Scotland – Speirs + Major/Reiach and Hall

Community and Public Realm Project of the Year

  • Boxpark, Dubai, United Arab Emirates – AECOM/Delta Lighting Solutions
  • Cikat Bay, Croatia – Skira
  • NOMA Earth Tubes, Manchester, England – Cundall Light4
  • Szczecin Philharmonic Hall, Poland – Anoche

Workplace Project of the Year

  • The Sussex Cellar, London, England – Sutton Vane Associates
  • McLaren Thought Leadership Centre, Woking, England – Cinimod Studio
  • Sainsbury Digital Lab, London, England – Cundall Light4

Hotel and Restaurant Project of the Year

  • Baccarat Hotel, New York, USA – Isometrix Lighting + Design
  • The New York Edition Hotel, USA – Isometrix Lighting + Design
  • Mint Leaf of London, Dubai – dpa lighting consultants
  • Nuo Hotel, Beijing, China – Illuminate Lighting Design
  • Raffles Hotel, Istanbul, Turkey – Illuminate Lighting Design

Leisure Project of the Year

  • The Guildford Recreation Centre Aquatic Addition, British Columbia, Canada – AES Engineering
  • Barcelona Design Museum, Spain – artec3 Studio
  • Mehr! Theater am Grossmarkt, Hamburg, Germany – jack be nimble
  • The UAE Pavilion, Expo 2015, Milan, Italy – David Atkinson Lighting Design

Lighting Design Practice of the Year

To be announced on the night

Lighting Designer of the Year

To be announced on the night

Architect of the Year

To be announced on the night

The presentation ceremony for the Lighting Design Awards takes place on the evening of Thursday 5 May at the London Hilton Park Lane. And, to celebrate our fourth decade as the industry’s leading event and awards programme, the organising team are pulling out the stops to deliver a visually stunning event – with more than a few surprises…

So don’t miss out on the UK’s greatest celebration of creativity:

  • Network with 1,000 top designers and suppliers
  • Applaud the UK’s world-leading lighting design talent
  • Join the special celebration of the 40 years of excellence

So get Thursday 5 May in your diary now – and make sure you don’t miss out on unparalleled networking, the glittering ceremony – and the rocking after-show party!

To ensure your place – and reward clients, employees and suppliers with an unforgettable evening – visit